Community Peace Officers

The main objective of Peace Officers is to ensure the safety of local citizens and property throughout the municipality or jurisdiction.

Complaint Line 

Office: (403) 886-3286

Cell: (587) 876-4538 or (403) 588-0629

File a complaint online


The Town of Penhold’s Community Peace Officers (CPO’s) are committed to serving and protecting the Town of Penhold.

Community Peace Officers are appointed by Alberta’s Solicitor General and Ministry of Public Security under the Alberta Peace Officers Act to enforce Provincial legislation and Municipal legislation within the Town of Penhold.

Areas of enforcement include traffic, animal control and protection, licensing, noise, commercial vehicle(s), environmental issues, gaming and liquor. 

The Town employs two Community Peace Officers, Victor Tam and Jay Klause, who strive to establish relationships with Town residents and businesses, provide public education and enforce regulations as required.

Peace Officers are designated by the Alberta Solicitor’s General; their duties and responsibilities include, but are not limited to, enforcing, educating and ensuring compliance of most provincial statues (Traffic Safety Act, Gaming and Liquor Act, Trespass Act, etc...) and local legislation (bylaws). 

Peace Officers work closely with a number of other agencies, RCMP/Police services/EMS/FIRE and other Peace Officers in the province for joint operations/events and training.  The enforcement carried out by peace officers is recognized as supplemental to, and not a replacement for, the police service.

Town Office Hours: Monday to Friday, 8:30am - 4:30pm (Closed from 12:00PM - 12:30PM)
Address: #1 Waskasoo Avenue, Box 10, Penhold, AB, T0M 1R0
Phone: 403-886-4567  Fax: 403-886-4039  Email: